I’m sick

Before my friends and family freak out over this title, I’m not physically sick.  After the decisions made by the Supreme Court this week, I’m sick and scared.  I have worried over this decision since it came down.  In all honesty, I had no idea that this was even before the Supreme Court.  Obviously, the decision I’m talking about is the Supreme Court’s ruling that same-sex marriage will be protected in all 50 states.  I haven’t posted anything about this on social media, because I was afraid.

For some who know me, you know that I REALLY don’t like confrontation.  I will not actively seek to debate someone, I will not look for a fight.  When I am thrust into one, I become anxious, flustered, my heart races, etc.  And I really don’t like hurting anyone’s feelings.  So for this reason, I didn’t want to offend anyone, I didn’t want to lose any friends, or cause anyone any anguish.

But after reading Bridget’s post “We’re to Blame” on her site Becoming a Godly Wife, I felt compared to speak up.  Please, take a moment to read her words, as she has said them better than I could have.  (If you scroll down to the bottom of her post, you can read my comment.)

Please hear this, I am not condemning anyone, I don’t hate anyone.  I am a sinner, the same as everyone else on the planet.  I have had friends who were homosexual.  It doesn’t mean that I condone what they are doing, but I don’t condemn them either.  That’s not my job.  My job is to love the person, to treat them as Christ would, to show them the love of Christ.  All I expect is the same respect in return.  Yes, there are radical people out there who shout condemnations from pulpits and mountains and street corners.  That’s not me, that’s not how I was taught to show the love of Christ.  But, I do feel that with this decision, we are headed down a seriously DARK path, and if we don’t speak up, we will be in serious trouble.

So please, take a moment to read Bridget’s post.  I know my following is small, but it only takes one person to bring change about.  Thanks in advance.

 

Leave a Reply

