I’m Back – well, gonna try to be…

So while I haven’t posted here in a while, I have been very busy with school and life. Last year, we started meeting up once a week with a great friend of mine, for school with our boys. She has three boys, the middle one being the same age as Cole and the youngest is about a year younger than Wyatt. We have tons of fun each week playing various reading and math games, cool science experiments, and awesome crafts. We take turns teaching so it mixes it up for the kids.

For us at home, we started working on word families this year with Cole. I found some really neat activities for word families and sight words, but my favorite, and Cole’s has been card games. Kelly’s Kindergarten is a treasure trove of information and activities, but she has a whole section on various card games, including Cars UNO, which is the most popular in my house. I tend to save it as an end of the week activity so it’s something to look forward to.  You can click here to get to the cards page.

The other cool thing I stumbled upon was a set of emergent readers from Anna at The Measured Mom.  I am really loving her site right now.  She has numerous FREE printable books for beginning readers.  They are so much fun.  And Anna gives great directions on printing.  She also had a couple of sets of ABC books, that Wyatt loves.  He wanted me to print out every book the minute I printed out the first one.  The problem was that I needed a long-arm stapler (loving this new item) and more card stock paper.  The stapler came today and the paper will get here tomorrow.  The readers are found under the Reading link at the top of the site.

We also decided to make an indoor herb garden.  I wanted something fun we could do for science that I could use to teach the kids, but also be functional too.  (And I’ve been wanting an herb garden for a while!)  I didn’t want something outside, because, well, I HATE bugs, and we have some big scary ones here!  I have been doing a lot of freezer meals lately, and have been wanting some fresh herbs for salads and other meals.  So this seemed like the perfect idea!

So while I was at the dollar tree on afternoon with the boys, I saw that they had clay pots and seeds.  SCORE.  So we picked up 8 pots and 8 seed packs.  Seven were herbs and one was flowers for the boys.  And they did what boys do, they lost the flower seeds.  We had to go to home depot anyway to get soil and bases for the pots, so I just picked up an extra seed packet.  We planted basil, parsley, thyme, chives, oregano, lavender, mint, and sage.  I’ve got to tell you, every morning we wake up and the first thing we do is come into the family room and check the pots to see if anything is growing.  Almost all of the pots have sprouts in them.  Just waiting on the last couple.  At this point, I’m not really holding my breath.  Using a gift card, I got the soil for free, so if I have to replace a couple and try again, it’s not a big deal.  But it’s wonderful to see the kids checking the pots and getting excited over new growth!

That’s just a taste of what we’ve been doing so far.  Stay tuned for more, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

